Girls Wrestling

STATE BOUND: Area girls wrestlers punch tickets to next weekend’s state meet

Submitted Photo

HARRISON — The OHSWCA Girls Southwest Regional Wrestling Tournament took place at Harrison High School on Sunday, Feb. 14.

And several coverage-area wrestlers placed within their respective weight classes and are heading to next weekend’s State tournament.

Lakota West’s Grace Hicks won the 121-pound weight class, punching her ticket to State. Firebirds wrestler Kendra Hiett placed second in the 126 class, also advancing to State.

“This is exciting to see. These two girls work so hard to get to where they’re at right now,” Lakota West coach Adam Meyer said. “These girls had a chance to shoot for something, and yesterday was it. The results are showing, and now they get to continue to next week’s state tournament.

“They had something to shoot for and to train hard for,” Meyer added. “This is something that they had circled on their calendar for a long time. They’ve taken advantage of a growing opportunity.”

Fairfield’s Rachel Elizondo placed first in the 111 class, and teammate Marissa Meyer captured the 143 class title — as each will be participating in next week’s state tournament.

“Our girls give 100 percent effort and were excited to be there to compete,” Fairfield coach John Meyer said. “From a coach’s perspective, we have two ladies in our community that we can be proud of.”

Badin’s Rachel Nusky will also advance to state after placing third in the 121 class.

Badin’s Rachel Nusky celebrates with her coaches after placing third in her respective weight class. PROVIDED PHOTO

Monroe’s Kaitlyn Gyutoko (101) and Badin’s Brooke Weisbrodt (111) and Shea Scarborough (116) also competed in the event. Weisbrodt and Scarborough will be alternates at the state meet.

The top four wrestlers advanced to the state tournament at Hilliard Davidson next weekend. The results are as followed:

101 Weight Class — First: Scotlyn Adams (West Union), Second: Haley Williams (Mason), Third: Isabella Savage (Taylor), Fourth: Jenna Kahn (Washington Courthouse).

106 — First: Chloe Dearwester (Harrison), Second: Savanna Johnson (Waverly), Third: Kaitlyn Fischer (New Richmond), Fourth: Ava Miller (Teays Valley).

111 — First: Rachel Elizondo (Fairfield), Second: Rita Carey (Brookville), Third: Alex Donahue (Bethel-Tate), Fourth: Aubrey Garrison (Miamisburg).

116 — First: Cerenity Bergeron (Taylor), Second: Dakota Propeck (Western Brown), Third: Abbey Puckett (Clermont-Northeastern), Fourth: Bailey Brewer (Colerain).

121 — First: Grace Hicks (Lakota West), Second: Julie Sung (Mason), Third: Rachel Nusky (Badin), Fourth: Alison Calhoun (Greeneview).

126 — First: Rylee Gust (Springboro), Second: Kendra Hiett (Lakota West), Third: Lilly Kinsel (Harrison), Fourth: Paige Foster (Mason).

131 — First: Cassia Zammit (Miamisburg), Second: Elisa Reese (Western Brown), Third: Aaliyah Lee (Harrison), Fourth: Ivy Stephan (Clermont-Northeastern).    

137 — First: Meghan Werbrich (Taylor), Second: Lacie Reese (Western Brown), Third: Emma Schatzel (Mason), Fourth: Madison Greene (Harrison).

143 — First: Marissa Meyer (Fairfield), Second: Lizbeth Banderas (Norwood), Third: Lilly Braden (Clermont-Northeastern).

150 — First: Erin Martin (Walnut Hills), Second: Aiyanna Toliver (Waverly), Third: Jesse Foeber (Clermont-Northeastern), Fourth: Sallie Wesselman (Bethel-Tate).

160 — First: Isabell Carrington (Chaminade-Julienne), Second: Chloe Little (Waverly), Third: Kylie Prather (Clermont-Northeastern), Fourth: Molly Hudler (Harrison).

170 — First: Abi Miller (Western Brown), Second: Aiden Peoples (Waverly), Third: Amara Hedges (Mason).

189 — First: Ellie Harlow (Greeneview), Second: Gabrielle Chandler (Harrison), Third: Chloe Lemaster (Waverly), Fourth: Chloe Vining (Bethel-Tate).

235 — First: Karlie Harlow (Greeneview), Second: Jessica Edwards (Harrison), Third: Celina Nickell (West Union), Fourth: Rylee Kirkwood (Harrison).


Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

The Latest

To Top